REVIEW: Brazi Bites Brazilian Cheese Bread

13 Nov

You know what I miss a TON?  Pizza crust.  I’ve come to terms with the fact that gluten-free pizza just isn’t the same, but I really really miss the texture of a good, gluten-filled pizza crust.  I always used to steal my boyfriend’s pizza crust (he didn’t like it!!!).  And have you ever tried those cheese-filled crusts? So delicious.

Brazi Bites Product Line - Original, Jalapeno & bacon

I am super-excited to tell you about a product from Brazi Bites because now us gluten-free people can enjoy the taste of pizza crust again! Brazi Bites launched this product, commonly known as Brazilian cheese bread (or Pão de Queijo which I assume literally means “Bread of Cheese”, based on my knowledge of French and Spanish (but not Portuguese)) a couple years ago. It was developed from a secret family recipe and is amazingly delicious. After quite a bit of growth in the Pacific Northwest area, they are now being sold at Sprouts. (If you’ve never heard of Sprouts, they’re an awesome grocery store, which I wrote about here).

They come in 3 flavors: Original, Fire-Roasted Jalapeno and All-Natural Bacon and are Certified Gluten Free (and manufactured in a completely gluten-free facility).
Baked Cheese Bread

The original and fire-roasted jalapeno are, by far, my favorite.  While the Bacon Cheese Bread Snacks had only a subtle bacon flavor to them, I am not a fan of bacon.  I know, it’s un-American of me, but what can I say?  The other two are amazing, cheesy, crusty goodness though.  It tastes just like I stole them off my boyfriend’s plate.  While I’m too lazy to make a dip for these, I think they’d be great with some sort of sauce or dip.

These come frozen, about 20 to a bag.  A serving size is only 3 pieces (sadface) and they have about 120-140 calories each.  Now, I’m going to tell you the one down side of this product:  They have to bake in the oven for 20 minutes! 20 entire minutes before you can eat them!  (Luckily, ovens vary, and they cook in my oven in about 16 minutes… phew).

If you don’t have a Sprouts near you, you can buy them online and have them shipped to you. I will warn you that shipping is quite expensive. To ship one bag to Colorado was three times the cost of the product … so hopefully you live near a Sprouts!

*I received these products at no cost, in exchange for my honest review.  I was not compensated in any other way.
5 Responses to “REVIEW: Brazi Bites Brazilian Cheese Bread”

  1. Molly November 13, 2013 at 7:09 am #

    Glad your oven came through for you, haha! Mine would probably take 30 instead of 20. :(

  2. SStitches November 13, 2013 at 7:35 am #

    If you ever want to make your own Pão de Queijo, I have a recipe that I got from a real live Brazilian! It will be, no questions asked, one of the first things I make in my new kitchen. So addictive. http://sydneylikesfood.wordpress.com/2012/05/23/pao-de-queijo-brazilian-cheese-breads/

  3. glutenguy November 14, 2013 at 9:57 am #

    Great article, thank you and I will have to find a Sprouts over here on the East coast in Jersey

  4. Madison @ Eating 4 Balance November 14, 2013 at 10:39 am #

    Haha. I was expecting the downside to be something super terrible! Waiting on the oven is pretty bad though ;)

  5. Gluten-Free Social Savvy November 26, 2013 at 9:59 pm #

    This looks really good. Thank you for sharing. I will look for them now that you have posted.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,083 other followers

