My “I Got Glutened” Emergency Kit

27 Feb

Infused Water for Upset Stomach

Glutened, glutenated, glutenized.  Whatever you call it, all Celiacs seem to have a term for accidental gluten ingestion.  And we all also have some variation of an “emergency kit” for those unfortunate occasions when it happens. My symptoms vary when I get glutened so depending on where I am and what my symptoms are, here are the things I use and do when my stomach is feeling awful.

  • Lots of water.  Hydrating yourself is important but warm water is easier for me to stomach, especially when it’s already sensitive.  Lately, I’ve been infusing my water with fresh ginger, mint and lemon using this water infusion pitcher.
  • Ginger tea.  I buy plain ginger, not mixed with black or green tea beccause sometimes caffeine bothers my stomach even more.  Ginger is known for its stomach-soothing properties and since it’s just ginger, this counts toward my water intake as well.  You can also cut up fresh ginger root and make a beverage this way.
  • Peppermint tea.  Like with ginger, I make sure to buy just plain peppermint, no other ingredients.
  • Pepto Bismol.  I’m most likely to use this when I’m on vacation or otherwise not in the comfort of my home. It’s not my solution of choice, but it’s better than being stuck in my room for an entire vacation.  It works pretty quickly and is effective at treating the symptoms.
  • Yoga poses. This great article covers some yoga poses for healthy digestion. The one I use most frequently is the main picture at the top, and the last pose described.
  • Hot water bottle.   I’ve been using these hot water bottles for over 7 years now. I prefer these to heating pads and don’t even get me started on all the uses I have for these hot water bottles!  They last FOREVER (or at least 7 years!) and the fleece liner is machine-washable.  When I’ve been glutened, I heat up water, fill this up, and put it on my stomach.
  • Peppermint gum. I use Orbit, but as long as your gum is gluten free, it shouldn’t matter what brand you use. I find this especially effective for nausea, especially if it’s immediately following a meal.

What do you do when you accidentally ingest gluten?

75 Responses to “My “I Got Glutened” Emergency Kit”

  1. Kathryn Chastain Treat February 27, 2013 at 11:59 am #

    I use some of these for food allergies. Have you seen an infusion pitcher that doesn’t have a plastic inside (BPA free isn’t enough for me)? Just curious.

    • Amanda February 27, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

      I see some glass ones by a Google search but haven’t contacted any manufacturers. Another thing I did before having the pitcher though, is use oxygen-bleached paper filter bags/papers or cotton tea socks as the infusion aid. Are you able to use either of those

      • Kathryn Chastain Treat February 27, 2013 at 1:01 pm #

        I probably could use cheese cloth. I would never have thought of that until you mentioned the socks.

      • Amanda February 27, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

        Perfect!

  2. sondasmcschatter February 27, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

    “What do you do when you accidentally ingest gluten?” I DO AS YOU WITH LOTS & LOTS & LOTS OF PURE WATER– & I GROW MY OWN MINT LOTS OF MINT– & DRY IF FOR MY OWN CHEMCIAL FREE TEA– & I DO THE SAME AS WHEN I’M EXPOSED TO LOTS OF TOXIC CHEMCIALS– I EAT LOTS & LOTS OF GREENS– FRESH GREENS–& SPROUTS & GREEN VEGGIES——-LOTS OF THEM!!!

  3. Wicked Emerald February 27, 2013 at 12:33 pm #

    I love the title! Glutened…very funny. The piece is very helpful but the title was a truly welcomed bonus.

  4. achemistinthekitchen February 27, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

    This is a great list! I got “glutened” over the weekend :(

    My reactions are similar to allergic reactions, so the first thing I took was an antihistamine. Later that day I took a zinc supplement and a probiotic to help with gut healing, and for the last several days I have been having lots of bone broth and sauerkraut. Next time, I will also add ginger tea!

    • Amanda February 27, 2013 at 5:49 pm #

      What type of antihistamine do you take? I take them often for my regular allergies anyway and have noticed that they sometimes seem to help!

      • achemistinthekitchen February 27, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

        I use the generic version of Zyrtec, which does a pretty good job. My reactions to milk are much worse, so if I get “caseined” (lol), I’ll go with 2 benadryl and head straight for bed.

  5. healthyforhim February 27, 2013 at 5:45 pm #

    I posted about this. Kombucha, warm Braggs and lemon water, spinach smoothies with coconut water and rasberries and flax oil, Tumeric for inflammation, and sometimes aleve for eye swelling. I stay on my fish oil, and probiotic – and sometimes do an enema to get it OUT of my system – depending on the reaction. Ugh. Naughty Chick-fil-a got me this time.

    • Amanda February 27, 2013 at 5:48 pm #

      Sorry to hear Chick-fil-a got you! Hope your better soon. And yes, us Celiacs all seem to have our own special formula for getting well :)

    • sondasmcschatter February 27, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

      Thank you for sharing that information!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Betty Toole November 12, 2013 at 5:22 pm #

      Didn’t know their Chicken Salad was made with fried chicken.

      • healthyforhim November 13, 2013 at 1:23 pm #

        You can get it with grilled chicken. It just still has about 108 ingredients in their “chicken”… including multiple forms of MSG. :(

  6. SStitches February 27, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

    I say “got glutened”, too. I go with any sort of decaf tea (in Ireland, tea is TEA, and it calms my gut. I have about 20 jars of different decaf herbal teas, though.), the hot water bottles, lots of rest, easy on leafy vegetables, up the fibre intake by a lot, and I take to the juicer like it’s going out of style. I whine, too — that tends to help. :P I get really nasty back pain, in particular, when I’m glutened, so, once I can stand the pressure, I get my husband to help realign my spine.

    If it’s a really bad case (I got glutened by ice cream after slaving over my beautiful gluten-free Thanksgiving!), I turn to the meds. I try to take them few and far between.

    • Amanda February 27, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

      What kind of meds do you take? And that’s really interesting – i also get lower back pain whenever i have stomach issues from being glutened!

      • SStitches February 27, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

        I take Buscopan and Mebeverine whenever it’s bad. I was actually prescribed high doses of both of them last year, but I weaned myself off all medication in order to listen to my body more. I did it with the doctor, so I didn’t just go all crazy without things I needed! Now, when I am glutened, I’ll take one of either med, and wait until the next day to see if I need more. Usually I’ll take 3-4 doses over the week.

  7. Molly February 27, 2013 at 10:06 pm #

    I love Orbit, too, although for me, gum is a short-lived pleasure that always, always upsets my stomach. I chew it anyway, because I am a rebel.

    The yoga poses look like a great option; thanks for sharing. I have a friend of a friend who swears by “colonic massage” but I’ve never quite figured out the magical technique.

    • Amanda February 28, 2013 at 10:06 am #

      Is it one of those weird ingredients like sorbitol or … other… weird gum ingredients, which bothers your stomach?

      I’ve never heard of a colonic massage. Must look into this….

      • Molly February 28, 2013 at 11:09 am #

        Not sure! I’ve always just thought it was the act of chewing itself making me swallow extra air, or churning up stomach acid, or some such.

    • Hilary December 18, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

      Sorbitol is very gas-producing. My sister takes Sorbitol in liquid form daily as she is on peritoneal dialysis so has to have a daily bowel movement to keep her catheter in place. In other words, its a laxative so can upset anyone’s stomach!

  8. Naked Girl in a Dress February 28, 2013 at 7:55 am #

    I never knew there was anything I could do to improve my condition. I usually curl up in a ball and not move until the pain subsides if it’s bad. Really bad gluten incidents I am in really terrible pain. Lots of different symptoms like others though.

    • Amanda February 28, 2013 at 8:25 am #

      It doesn’t always make it go away, but it definitely helps! So does curling up in a ball :)

  9. Mary Kate February 28, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

    Altoids, in mass quantities, help my food allergy symptoms.

  10. bridget29 March 1, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

    The last time I got glutened, it took me about 2 weeks to get rid of my symptoms. It was cruel, I must say! I should definitely be more careful about it.

    • Amanda March 1, 2013 at 7:12 pm #

      It’s hard because it seems like no matter how careful we are, gluten is always lurking… Glad you’re feeling better now!

  11. mindiedieu March 1, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

    Thanks for sharing this post. I’m brand new this whole gluten-free business. I appreciate all of the comments too. Very helpful.

    • Amanda March 1, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

      You’re welcome! It gets easier in time.

  12. sarahjuniper March 1, 2013 at 11:18 pm #

    This is a great post :) thanks for sharing! I got some great ideas from it..I keep a stash of Sprite lemonade in the fridge and gently sip at it…something about it soothes by belly. I also have lots of lollies with strong peppermint flavour too and raspberry cordial ( the sort that actually has real raspberries in it- a trip that i picked up from travelling)
    Thanks!

  13. fussybunsmama March 4, 2013 at 1:46 am #

    I got a business card from Kim Holman, LMT, IMT.C with this Gluten Protocol at our GIG meeting:
    “Upon accidentally getting into gluten the following is a protocol that can work well. It can also be used to clean out old gluten pockets.

    To clean out old gluten:
    Gluten Ease
    Zinc (15 mg to ?)
    Manganese/B12 (34 mg and 5mcg respectively)
    Concentrated “Green” supplement (Chlorophyll)

    Add when newly exposed:
    Enzymes with Bromelain (regularly throughout the day, for 2 days)”

    I’ve also heard from others at the meeting that they take Activated Charcoal and drink lots of water!

    I always feel so miserable when I’ve been glutened. Ginger tea helps me a lot too.

  14. Wine Country Glutenfree Sleuth March 4, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    Hi, When I get glutenized I take about three or four charcoal tablets, which absorb the intense bloating gas. This really helps me get through the worst of the reaction. Also, the child’s pose in yoga seems the gas move through my system faster, so it can be released. Learned about the charcoal in my MS In Natural Health classes.

    • Amanda March 4, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

      I’ve never tried charcoal tablets but have heard good things about them. Do you have a brand you recommend?

      • Wine Country Glutenfree Sleuth March 4, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

        Hi Amanda,
        I just go to Whole Foods or any health food store and buy a brand that is GF. The brand on my vitamin shelf right now is Country Life.
        FYI … I love the words you made up for getting accidental gluten!!! I am going to use them, ok?

    • Wine Country Glutenfree Sleuth March 4, 2013 at 1:40 pm #

      Please excuse the weird phrase in my last comment. I am a little out of it lately having just experienced a death in the family. What I meant to say was..”The child’s pose in yoga helps move the gas through my system …” Thanks in advance for you understanding.

  15. palomino72 March 5, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

    Thanks for sharing your fantastic resource. I love it !

    • Amanda March 5, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

      No problem! Hope it helps!

  16. palomino72 March 5, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

    Reblogged this on radiance and commented:
    ‘I got glutened emergency kit’, a fantastic idea so I had to share !

  17. Natty March 8, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

    These are all great ideas. I have fructose malabsorption, not coeliacs, but when I get “fructosed” flushing myself with water is the first thing I do. I haven’t tried ginger or mint, though. Next time I definitely will!

    • Amanda March 8, 2013 at 11:29 pm #

      Interesting! I’ve written about fructose malabsorption before - i thought i had it because i have major issues with some fruits and honey, but I don’t know. I’ll have to read more of your blog for more information!

      • Natty March 8, 2013 at 11:55 pm #

        That’s funny, for six months the doctors swore I had coeliacs before one gastroenterologist finally figured it out. There are differing severities of FM and it often comes hand in hand with coeliacs so maybe you have it to a mild degree? But even IBS can be helped by a low FODMAP diet. Give me a day to finish off the FM page before you go searching for more info lol.

  18. Nurture and Glow March 16, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

    Oregano oil is my favorite remedy for glutenization. A few drops in a glass of water always helps to stop the chaos for me. I love ginger tea, too!

  19. Donna Reeve March 17, 2013 at 11:32 am #

    Back when I was gluten intolerant (for decades, but more recently ruled not celiac by genetic testing), I drank pepto bismol like soda. You’ve got some great alternatives here.

  20. Sarah March 17, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    Seven years post diagnosis, I thankfully only get glutened about once a year (am currently knocking on wood as I type)! A few months into my diagnosis, my real glutened reaction started to appear – four hours of puking! My doctor prescribed me with a medicine called Hyoscyamine, which he said is Xanax for your stomach. It helps calm down the cramping.

    One thing I learned was to never take phenergan after being glutened. It keeps all the poison in. That was a bad night.

    Like you, I crave peppermint things. Sometimes I’ll also super sweet things.

    • Amanda March 18, 2013 at 6:55 am #

      Oh my gosh, I hate throwing up so much. That must have been awful! Do you get glutened when you go out to eat? That’s usually when it happens for me.

      • sagewhisk April 5, 2013 at 9:52 pm #

        Hi Amanda–thanks for liking my posts! I was drawn to this post of yours because my son is gluten-sensitve but not celiac. He’s too young to be able to describe to me how he’s feeling, but I can usually tell if he’s been glutened–he will become constipated for days and be really emotional. Anyway, since you are fond of peppermint, perhaps you could try some peppermint essential oil? You could put a few drops in your water and drink it or even mix into coconut oil and massage over the abdomen and lower back. I like the Young Living brand, but there are others out there. Thanks for the great post!

  21. glutenfreecoach April 7, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

    Those are some good things to try. When mine is really bad I walk and walk and walk. After one really horrible dinner out my husband had to walk me around the parking lot for two hours! And they said its was GF!

  22. Kat April 9, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

    For me, more often than not, getting “glutened” means I’ll be stuck with a nasty migraine in 3-2-1 (typically before I even leave the restaurant). So I find I must carry migraine meds with me – I tend to carry multiple packets when I travel, just in case.

    I might end up in the bathroom, but that usually quickly “passes” and the discomfort doesn’t last too long.

    • Amanda April 9, 2013 at 7:02 pm #

      Thanks for the comment, Kat. Great that your GI distress passes quickly but I know how much migraines can affect your ability to do anything! It’s good that you know your symptoms and are able to treat it pretty quickly.

  23. Ashley April 9, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

    Hello everyone, i am new to the Gluten allergy game. Have had Digestive problems my whole lilfe and 6 ish months ago took gluten out of my diet, feeling 90% better but still have some issues. I dont trust anything that doesnt say GF on the label and now only shop at A Market health foods stores. Ive been living off Imodium for about 15 yrs now. What are some things i can do that will help me (from not swell up and look like a pregnant woman and will help from constantly running to the bathroom) ?

    • Amanda April 9, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

      Hi Ashley!
      Thanks for the comment and I’m glad to hear you’ve been feeling better since cutting out gluten. Are you under a doctor’s care? I would first and foremost recommend that. Things I would recommend, however are: 1) Stay away even from foods that say “Gluten Free” and instead, focus on whole foods, single ingredients (meat, dairy if it doesn’t bother you, fruits, vegetables, etc.) Even foods that say Gluten Free can still contain a small amount of gluten so if your diet is filled mostly with processed foods, it can add up. 2) Look at your medication, chapstick, vitamins, etc to make sure you’re not getting any gluten through those sources. 3) Make sure you’re not cross-contaminating yourself in your own kitchen or when you eat out at restaurants. 4) Keep a food journal tracking exactly what you eat, and how you feel after.

      • Ashley April 9, 2013 at 7:35 pm #

        Thanks Amanda ! Such good ideas. Im going to look for a dietitian or someone whom is more familiar with gluten free diets, than my primary. Great idea with meds and vitamins and that other stuff, didnt even think of that. Also food journals are great too, i kept one for a yr trying to figure out why i was having such issues. Thanks again. appreciate everything !

      • Judy Gorter April 9, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

        Hi Amanda , When I get glutened, I use an Aloe Vera Drink that has pulp in it from a health food store. I also use a medication that the doctor says is for anxiety called Pristique but it helps with the pain when I eat something I shouldn’t.. And then I use rice packs made with rice in a fleece bag for the pain in my abdomen. I eat alot of rice and usually put Chicken with it and broth.I used this meal for two years when I first had IBS and had no idea it was because of the gluten I was eating. Now I only eat this when I get a reaction to something I ate. I take ginger chews that my health food store sells in small chews to help settle my stomach.I also go to the grocery store called Woodmans and it has a few isle of gluten free items. Such as bread from UDI that is excellent to eat for those of us who can’t eat gluten bread. I use Hodgson Mill Gluten free noodles for making all my pasta dishes. If you want any other information about my foods or where to get them let me know Thanks for the others who told their stories. Thanks again. Judy .

      • Amanda April 9, 2013 at 8:14 pm #

        Hi Judy! Thanks for the comment. I’d love to know what the Aloe Vera drink is – is there a certain brand you buy?. I definitely stick to the basics too when I’ve been glutened — basically the BRAT diet (bananas, rice, applesauce, (gf) toast) and add in liquids like broth and peppermint or ginger tea.

  24. marilyn April 9, 2013 at 11:04 pm #

    I really appreciate all of the tips for my stomach when I have been glutened. I had the dr give me a medicine on my last visit to help the severe cramps. I too have pain through to my back, throw up for hours and other major issues. I am so careful that I am always surprised when it happens. I will get several of these supplies to keep on hand. Thanks.

  25. Gina April 9, 2013 at 11:46 pm #

    We just call it getting “poisoned” when I ingest something bad. My friends seem to use that before. I get violently ill. I am not sure why my reaction is the way it is. I vomit. A lot. If its really bad there is nothing I can do to make it stop until its completely out of my system. Last time I could barely keep water down. Stomach pains were ridiculous and I spent the entire weekend Throwing up and in bed. When it’s not that bad I can drink lots of water to ease the pain and sometimes some gf toasted bread helps with the settling.

    • Amanda April 10, 2013 at 4:22 am #

      Hi Gina,
      That sounds absolutely awful. How often does it happen to you? Do you still eat at restaurants, or is it not worth the risk for you?

  26. Karen April 10, 2013 at 12:55 am #

    Am I the only one that doesn’t have GI problems when glutened? I get nasty, brutal migraine like headaches that no medication can touch, anger depression, severe fatigue, mouth sores.. mostly neurological symptoms,and they last 6 days. It is awful! If anyone has any deas on how to treat neurological symtoms, I am all ears.

    • Amanda April 10, 2013 at 4:21 am #

      You’re definitely not alone. I get migraines too and brain fog – not as much as you, though. I don’t have great suggestions for those symptoms :( hopefully someone else here can offer you some!

  27. Judy King April 10, 2013 at 7:33 am #

    My 15-year old son is a celiac. When he gets glutened, which is rare, he goes straight for the aloe vera juice. It soothes the stomach and GI linings, just like aloe on a burn soothes and heals the damaged skin. Natures Way sells a Berry flavored aloe juice. Lily of the Desert might be a better brand, though. We dilute it a little with an equal amount of water, then add a couple drops of Stevia elixir to sweeten it. Lily of the Desert makes a stomach formula with peppermint too.

    In addition, I give him pineapple – fresh or canned- to break down and digest the food quickly. Pineapple has a lot of enzymes. A friend whose joints swell up when she gets glutened once ate a whole wheat-filled dinner for the sake of the host and hostess she was visiting. She knew she would suffer later, but did it out of courtesy for them. When she got home, she ate a lot of pineapple. The next morning she had virtually no effects from the gluten. Just a little ache in the thumb knuckle. Proof that the enzymes broke down and moved the offending foods along very quickly, reducing inflammation in the process.

    • Amanda April 10, 2013 at 8:44 am #

      I’ll have to look into this Aloe Vera juice – you’re the second to recommend it. Thanks for the suggestion on the pineapple as well! I eat a lot of it :)

  28. notunredeemed February 22, 2014 at 10:38 pm #

    Thanks for all the info! My go to is activated charcoal for the intestinal stuff, but I haven’t found anything for the headaches. I usually just go to bed because my head gets so foggy!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My “I Got Glutened” Emergency Kit | Celiac and Allergy Adventures | sondasmcschatter - February 27, 2013

    [...] My “I Got Glutened” Emergency Kit | Celiac and Allergy Adventures [...]

  2. What to Do When It’s Been Done to You | sydney likes food - February 27, 2013

    [...] I saw a post on Celiac and Allergy Adventures about what she does when she’s been glutened, I realised I’d never shared that part of [...]

  3. Re-share of Celiac and Allergy Adventures Post | Allergy-Friendly Food Ideas - March 1, 2013

    [...] ” I got glutened emergency kit” - My “I Got Glutened” Emergency Kit. [...]

  4. My “I Got Glutened” Emergency Kit | Fussy Buns - March 4, 2013

    [...] My “I Got Glutened” Emergency Kit. [...]

  5. Glutened on the First Day of Vacation | Celiac and Allergy Adventures - March 5, 2013

    [...] to really feel uncomfortable. Since I’m vacation, I didn’t have access to my entire emergency kit for accidental gluten ingestion. I did have some Pepto Bismol chewables, however, and took a couple. I also had picked up some Gin [...]

  6. How to Sleep Through Itchiness and Stomach Pain | Celiac and Allergy Adventures - March 20, 2013

    [...] a hot water bottle. I mentioned hot water bottles as being part of my ‘I Got Glutened’ Emergency Kit. I didn’t mention that I use these for everything!  If the room is too cool, I use the hot [...]

  7. Natural Healing – My 2 days in bed with a respiratory infection | A Chemist in the Kitchen - March 22, 2013

    [...] as a part of my “I got glutened” treatment plan (for a great post about this, check out this one by Amanda at Celiac and Allergy Adventures). But, in addition to it’s gut-healing properties, [...]

  8. Review: Peppermint and Ginger Tummy Drops | Celiac and Allergy Adventures - April 22, 2013

    [...] my I Got Glutened Emergency Kit post, I wrote about having ginger and peppermint tea to soothe my stomach after being glutened. [...]

  9. Getting Glutened: The Reality | Celiac and Allergy Adventures - July 13, 2013

    […] exhausted to the point of taking naps (which I haven’t done since going gluten-free). Even my emergency kit for getting glutened hasn’t helped […]

  10. My “I Got Glutened” Emergency Kit from Celiac and Allergy Adventures | Rolling Out Dough - November 13, 2013

    […] Photo Credit […]

  11. Happy New Year! Here’s a Recap of 2013. | Celiac and Allergy Adventures - January 1, 2014

    […] My “I Got Glutened” Emergency Kit. […]

  12. Traveling with Multiple Food Allergies/Intolerances | The Girl Who Couldn't Eat Anything - January 22, 2014

    […] concerned about getting sick from something you ate I would highly recommend putting together this “I Got Glutened!” kit. Even though I didn’t end up needing it, it gave me peace of mind knowing that it was there […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,079 other followers

